Technology Standards

The international Society for Technology in Education (ISTE) has published National Educational Technology Standards (NETS) for teaching, learning, and leading in the digital age.  These standards are widely recognized and adopted worldwide.  Below is an overview of each set of standards and includes a link to more detailed information at

NETS for Students 
NETS-S consists of six categories to guide students toward living productively in the global community.
1.  Creativity and Innovation
2.  Communication and Collaboration
3.  Research and Information Fluency
4.  Critical Thinking, Problem Solving, and Decision Making
5.  Digital Citizenship
6.  Technology Operations and Concepts

NETS for Teachers
NETS-T consists of five categories to guide teachers in designing, implementing, and assessing the technology and curricular goals with students.
1.  Facilitate and Inspire Student Learning and Creativity
2.  Design and Develop Digital Age Learning Experiences and Assessments
3.  Model Digital Age Work and Learning
4.  Promote and Model Digital Citizenship and Responsibility
5.  Engage in Professional Growth and Leadership

NETS for Administrators
NETS-A consists of five areas to guide administrators in supporting digital age learning, implementing technology, and transforming the educational landscape.
1.  Visionary Leadership
2.  Digital Age Learning Culture
3.  Excellence in Professional Practice
4.  Systemic Improvement
5.  Digital Citizenship